Supporting Hospital Broadcasting in the UK

The National Hospital Radio Awards

The National Hospital Radio Awards is an annual celebration of the excellent standards found in hospital radio stations across the country.

The awards are open to any HBA member station; full details and application documents can be found on these pages.

The awards are divided into different categories, each one recognising a specific area of excellence; some are awarded to individuals, others to stations.

Most of the categories recognise gold, silver, and bronze winners; however, some prizes are awarded to only one individual with no runner-up places.

Entry Procedure

Entries this year should be submitted online. If you are planning to enter the 2015 awards please e-mail for a link to an online folder to post your entry in and an entry form.

In all audio based categories you are permitted to submit up to 250 words explaining the context of your entry. However, this is not compulsory, and the awards will be judged on the basis of the audio only.

All material used in your entry should have been broadcast between 1st November 2013 and 31st October 2014.

Award Ceremony

The Hospital Broadcasting Association is proud to organise and support the award ceremony each year, an event which offers a unique opportunity for fellow broadcasters to meet, share ideas, and recognise volunteers for their achievements.

The award ceremony takes place during a gala dinner on the Saturday evening of the HBA Annual Conference, which is held towards the end of March each year.

Award Categories

Awards Blog

Awards winners announced!
Nigel Dallard | 29th Mar 15
Awards ceremony on Saturday
Nigel Dallard | 25th Mar 15
Entries Close This Weekend!
Iain Lee | 13th Nov 14
Awards Entries Open!
Nigel Dallard | 19th Sep 14
Winners photos available
Iain Lee | 3rd Apr 14

Key Dates

  • 2015 Awards
  • 01/09/2014: Awards Officially Open
  • 16/11/2014: Online Entry Deadline
  • 01/01/2015: Shortlists Announced
  • 28/03/2015: Award Ceremony
  • 29/03/2015: Winners Revealed Online
  • 2016 Awards
  • 01/09/2015: Awards Officially Open